April 11, 2014

Photo Gallery

ROCHESTER, Mich. - The Department of Athletics hosted its first-ever GESPY Awards banquet inside the Athletics Center O'rena on Thursday night. Oakland honored its seniors, along with several award winners throughout the evening.

"This event was a wonderful way to showcase the accomplishments of our student-athletes and celebrate our seniors," said Assistant Athletic Director for Student-Athlete Services/Senior Woman Administrator, Holly Kerstner. "There was so much energy and excitement surrounding this event and it was amazing to see everyone come together and have a great time."

Hollie L. Lepley Scholar-Athlete Award
The most prestigious award handed out by the athletics department, these two student-athletes accomplished the highest academic, athletic and community service achievements.

Nick Kristock (men's soccer), Bethany Watterworth (women's basketball)

Coach of the Year Award
The Coach of the Year Award is awarded to the coach that proves most outstanding over the course of their season. It is a way to honor superior hard work and dedication and going above and beyond for their athletes.

Jeff Tungate (women's basketball)

Best TV Spotlight Award
Award is given based on the best outstanding television moments from the year.

Jake Quinnan and Colby Haan

Team GPA Award
The team with the best GPA per semester is awarded the team GPA Award.

Winter Team GPA Award - Volleyball
Fall Team GPA Award - Men's Golf

Photo of the Year
The Photo of the Year is given to the student-athlete that provides the most photogenic moment.

Erika Polidori (softball)

We Bleed Black and Gold Award
Spirit points are given to the teams for community service work, attendance at Oakland University games and events, and participation in Life Skills workshops. The team with the most points at the end of a year is awarded the We Bleed Black and Gold award.

Men's Swimming and Diving

2014 Grizz Rock
The Grizz Rock is awarded to the team that puts together the best video in "mock rock" fashion.

Dance Team

Distinguished Alumni Award
The Distinguished Alumni award is given to a former Golden Grizzly that continues to make a difference for Oakland Athletics. It is a testament to their continued dedication to OU and the legacy they continue to leave.

Andre Latour


Golden Grizzlies Photo Galleries