June 5, 2018

All-time winners

-- Oakland University captured the Horizon League McCafferty Trophy for the fourth consecutive year announced by the league office on Tuesday.

Oakland earned 52.5 points overall while also finishing atop the men's and women's sports standings with 23.5 and 29 points respectively. It marks the third time Oakland has finished first in both the overall standings and the men's and women's standings, a feat no Horizon League school, past or present, has done.

The Golden Grizzlies now own the second longest winning streak in Horizon League history, trailing only Notre Dame, which won seven consecutive trophies from 1988 to 1995, and Oral Roberts, which won the first seven titles after the league was founded in 1979 through 1986. No current Horizon League school has ever won four straight titles and in just five years as a member, the Golden Grizzlies have already accumulated the third-most trophies in league history.

”Winning a fourth consecutive McCafferty Trophy is a testament to the dedication, hard work and fortitude of the 320-plus student-athletes, coaches and staff at Oakland University," said Interim Director of Athletics Padraic McMeel. "They strive on a daily basis to be better than the day before and trust in the process. The fruits of that labor are in the overall success of all the teams which is shown in winning the McCafferty Trophy. I am so proud of these young men and women who represent themselves, their program and the university so well. I could not be more thrilled for their success.”

Oakland captured five Horizon League titles in the 2017-18 season with men's and women's cross country teams each claiming a championship. For the women's team, it was their third consecutive title while the men's team clinched their second title in three years. The men's and women's swimming and diving teams added two more titles for Oakland as the men won their 40th straight league title and the women earned their 24th consecutive title. The men's track team gave the Golden Grizzlies its fifth and final league championship of the season in thrilling fashion at its home facility. In the last event of the day, the Oakland men's 4x400 relay team took first place, erasing a one-point deficit to earn its first title in program history.

Named in honor of James J. McCafferty, who served as the conference's first commissioner from 1979-80, the McCafferty Trophy is awarded annually by the Horizon League to a member institution compiling the greatest number of performance points, based on its finish in the League's 19 championship sports.

For the sports of men's and women's soccer, volleyball, men's and women's basketball, softball and baseball, points are awarded based on combined regular season (60 percent) and championship (40 percent) finishes. For all other sports, points are based on performance in the league championships.

Overall Standings
Oakland 52.5
Cleveland State 38.5
Wright State 31
Youngstown State 30
Milwaukee 30
UIC 29.5
Green Bay 23.5
Northern Kentucky 13
Detroit Mercy 7.5

Men's Sports Standings
Oakland 23.5
Cleveland State 22
Wright State 18.5
UIC 13
Green Bay 12.5
Youngstown State 11
Milwaukee 10.5
Northern Kentucky 9
Detroit Mercy 7

Women's Sports Standings
Oakland 29
Milwaukee 19.5
Youngstown State 19
UIC 16.5
Cleveland State 16.5
Wright State 12.5
Green Bay 11
Northern Kentucky 4
Detroit Mercy 0.5

All-Time McCafferty Titles
Butler 8
Oral Roberts/Notre Dame/Milwaukee 7
Oakland 4
Cleveland State/Evansville 2
UIC/Northern Illinois 1


Golden Grizzlies Photo Galleries