Feb. 23, 2017

Results |  Photo Gallery 

CHICAGO -- Micah DeJonge (500 free), Patricia Aschan (200 IM), Tuomas Kiviluoma (200 IM), Holly Morren (50 free), Jeremiah Morren (50 free) and Joe Smith (1-meter diving) were all crowned champions on the second day of competition at the 2017 Horizon League Championships at Flames Natatorium.

DeJonge claimed his first career title with a time of 4:29.58, becoming the fourth consecutive Golden Grizzly to win the 500 free at the league championships. Aschan clocked a time of 2:00.72 to become just the second female swimmer in league history to win the 200 IM three consecutive years. Kiviluoma made it a clean sweep in that event as he claimed the men's title with a time of 1:46.88.

The Morren siblings proved to be the best male/female sprint duo in the conference as Holly Morren claimed her first title in the 50 free, breaking the pool, school and league record with a time of 22.58 and is just the third female swimmer in conference history to clock a time under 23 seconds in that event. Her brother Jeremiah Morren also made history by joining UIC's Blake Booher (2005-07) as the only two swimmers to win the men's 50 free three straight years. Joe Smith won his first career diving title with a score of 340.60.

Capping off the evening was a school record in the 200 free relay by the team of Katie Colwell, Arynn de Leeuw, Amber Lefler and Morren with a time of 1:31.50. Day three of the championships will begin tomorrow at 11 a.m. ET with prelims and continue with finals at 6:30 p.m. E.T.


1 Oakland (271.50)
2 Milwaukee (254.50)
3 Green Bay (160)
4 Illinois-Chicago (153.50)
5 Youngstown (148)
6 Cleveland State (140.50)
7 Wright State (134)
8 Valpo (44)


1 Oakland (311.50)
2 Illinois-Chicago (227)
3 Cleveland State (190)
4 Wright State (151.50)
5 Green Bay (144)
6 Milwaukee (140)
7 Valpo (74)




Golden Grizzlies Photo Galleries