Feb. 27, 2016

Complete Results |  Photo Gallery 

#GrizzVision with Patricia Aschan | #GrizzVision with Holly Morren | #GrizzVision with Rachel Waite | #GrizzVision with Devon Nowicki | #GrizzVision with women's 400 free relay | #GrizzVision with Nikki Flynn | #GrizzVision with men's 400 free relay

 Devon Nowicki went 1:55.66 in the 200-yard breaststroke, a new pool, school and Horizon League record and his third individual title of the meet and Holly Morren broke her own league and school record in the 100 freestyle (49.71) as the Oakland men's and women's swimming and diving teams claimed another league title. The men's program has now won 38 straight conference championships and the women's program has won 22 consecutive titles.

Patricia Aschan also claimed her third individual title, this time in the 200 backstroke going 1:58.74. Rachel Waite, champion in the 100 breaststroke, claimed another title in the 200 breaststroke with a time of 2:13.91.

The 2016 Horizon League Championships concluded with a pair of victories for the Golden Grizzlies in the 400 freestyle relay as the women's team of Holly Morren, Amber Lefler, Aschan and Nikki Flynn broke the league, pool and school record going 3:21.03. The men's relay team was not to be outdone as Paul Huch, Andrew Binder, Jeremiah Morren and Nowicki raced to a pool, school and league record time of 2:54.40.

Up next, divers Stirling Fordham and Joe Smith will compete in the NCAA zone diving meet March 10-12 at Purdue University. Nowicki, who has unofficially booked his ticket to the NCAA Championships in the 100 and 200 breaststroke, will compete at the Georgia Tech Aquatic Center March 24-26. Aschan, who clocked a 4:13.46 400 IM on day three, will wait to see if she will compete at the NCAA women's championships.

Individual award winners

Freshman of the Year
Devon Nowicki, Oakland
Molly McNamara, Cleveland State

Diver of the Meet
Stirling Fordham, Oakland
Rachel Margis, Milwaukee

Swimmer of the Meet
Philipp Sikatzki, Cleveland State
Patricia Aschan, Oakland

Swimming and Diving Athlete of the Year
Philipp Sikatzki, Cleveland State
Patricia Aschan, Oakland

Women's Diving Coach of the Year: Todd Hill, Milwaukee
Men's Diving Coach of the Year: Larry Albright, Oakland

Women's Swimming Coach of the Year: Kyle Oaks, Wright State
Men's Swimming Coach of the Year: Paul Graham, Cleveland State

Final team scores


  1. Oakland - 827.50
  2. Milwaukee - 628.50
  3. Wright State - 428
  4. Green Bay - 401.50
  5. UIC - 400
  6. Youngstown State - 353
  7. Cleveland State - 350.50
  8. Valparaiso - 94


  1. Oakland - 840
  2. Cleveland State - 597.5
  3. Wright State - 585
  4. UIC - 399
  5. Milwaukee - 382.5
  6. Green Bay - 366
  7. Valparaiso - 153




Golden Grizzlies Photo Galleries