June 22, 2016

NORFOLK, Va. – Nine members of the Oakland swimming and diving teams were named College Swimming and Diving Coaches Association of America (CSCAA) Scholar All-Americans announced by the organization Wednesday. The selections recognize students that have achieved a grade point average of 3.50 or higher and have participated in their respective NCAA, NAIA or NJCAA Swimming and Diving Championships.

Mitch Alters, Aleksander Danielewski, Tuomas Kiviluoma, Jeremiah Morren and Joe Smith were selected from the men’s team and Patricia Aschan, Nikki Flynn, Takara Martin and Melissa VanderMeulen were recognized on the women’s side. All were named as honorable mention selections, achieving a GPA of 3.50 and a NCAA "B" time standard or competed at a regional or zone qualifying meet.

Last week, both Oakland teams were recognized by the CSCAA as Spring 2016 Scholar All-America teams, having achieved team GPAs of 3.00 or higher over the semester.

Founded in 1922, the CSCAA – the oldest organization of college coaches in America – is a professional organization of college swimming and diving coaches dedicated to serving and providing leadership for the advancement of the sport of swimming & diving at the collegiate level.




Golden Grizzlies Photo Galleries