June 22, 2017


The Oakland women compiled a dual meet record of 5-2 defeating Duquesne, Youngstown State, Wayne State, Cleveland State and Bowling Green.

The men’s team finished with a 3-2 dual meet record beating Wayne State, Eastern Michigan and Cleveland State. It was the first time since the 2012-13 season that the men defeated EMU.

Both the men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams placed runner-up at the Zippy Invitational hosted by Akron Dec. 2-4.


Patricia Aschan broke the 200-yard IM school record at the Zippy Invitational on Dec. 2 going 1:59.36 becoming the first woman in program history to swim under two minutes in that event. She was named CollegeSwimming.com’s Conference Swimmer of the Week on Dec. 6 and Feb. 7 and earned Horizon League Swimmer of the Week on Oct. 18.

Paul Huch earned weekly honors from the Horizon League and CollegeSwimming.com on January 24.

Tuomas Kiviluoma was named CollegeSwimming.com’s Male Conference Swimmer of the Week on Nov. 9 and Dec. 6.

Micah DeJonge and Holly Morren were named CollegeSwimming.com’s League Swimmers of the Week on Nov. 16.

Joe Smith was named Horizon League Male Diver of the Week on Dec. 6.




Holly Morren set a new league, pool and school record in the 100-yard freestyle with a time of 49.14.

Takara Martin broke the school record in the 100 breaststroke with a time of 1:01.22 joining teammate Rachel Waite as the only two women in program history to swim the event in under one minute and two seconds.

Waite set a new school record in the 200 breaststroke going 2:11.94.

Kiviluoma won titles this in the 200 freestyle (1:37.32) and 200 IM (1:46.88).

Micah DeJonge won an individual title in the 1,650 free (15:37.59) becoming the first freshman to win that event since 2009. He also won the 500 free (4:29.58).

Jeremiah Morren was the Horizon League Champion in the 50 free (19.81) and became one of two swimmers in Horizon League history to win the men's 50 freestyle three consecutive years.

DeJonge and Grace Shinske were named Newcomers of the Year, the first time Oakland won both awards since joining the Horizon League.

Aschan won six more titles (three relay, three individual) to finish her career with 18 total league titles. She was awarded Female Athlete of the Year and Swimmer of the Meet for the third straight year, marking the first time in Horizon League history that feat has been accomplished. Aschan also became the first woman to win the 400 IM four years in a row (2014-17) and just the second female swimmer in league history to win the 200 IM three consecutive years.

Aleksander Danielewski won the 200 backstroke with a time of 1:45.56.

The women's 200 breaststroke event was dominated by Golden Grizzlies as Waite, Martin, Katlynn Emaus and Melissa VanderMeulen placed 1-2-3-4 in the event.

Smith won the 1- and  3-meter boards, making him the first Oakland male diver to sweep diving at the Horizon League Championships.

The Golden Grizzlies have now won 39 straight league titles on the men's side and 23 straight for the women. All together Oakland won 22 of the 40 events in the meet.


Golden Grizzlies Photo Galleries