Nov. 17, 2016

ROCHESTER, Mich.-- Oakland concluded its fall season with the annual Black and Gold intrasqaud series as the Gold team won the three game series 2-0-1. 

Game 1: Aaron Dehn started for the Gold team and pitched three scoreless innings, with three strikeouts. Jake Lee got the start for the Black team and threw six innings, allowed two runs and stuck out eight batters. The game ended in a tie in a six-inning game.

Game 2: Game two of the series went to the Gold team as they won 14-3 in seven innings. Conor Bowers got the start for the Gold, and P.J. Piesko started for the Black team.

Game 3: Bowers and Piesko faced off again in what was the determining game of the series, where the Gold team won 10-6 in nine innings.

Series award
Connor Fannon received the Offensive MVP award as he went 6-for-13, four doubles and six RBI’s. Mike McGee was the Defensive MVP for the series and also went 3-10 at bat for the Gold team. Pitching MVP was awarded to Jake Lee as he pitched six innings, allowed two runs and struck out eight.

Gold Team Highlights
Matt DiLeo went 5-for-12 at the plate, three doubles, two RBI’s and drew two walks and Tyler Pagano had two RBI’s and four doubles, as he went 5-for-12 at the plate. On the mound Conor Bowers pitched six innings and allowed one run during the series while Jared Burkert pitched three scoreless innings.

Black Team Highlights
Zach Sterry went 3-for-9, hitting two doubles and drawing four walks and Myles Zilinsky went 4-for-10 which included three RBI’s and one homerun.

The Golden Grizzlies will open their 2017 season with a three-game series at Lipscomb on February 17 in Nashville, Tenn.




Golden Grizzlies Photo Galleries