March 6, 2018

SPRINGFIELD, MASS. – Oakland's Kendrick Nunn has been selected as one of five finalist for the 2018 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award announced by The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame Tuesday.

Nunn, a redshirt senior from Chicago, Ill., is one of the nation's top three-point shooters, leading the NCAA in three-pointers per game at 4.57, an Oakland single season record. The shooting guard also ranked second nationally during the regular season in points per game at 26.1 and total three-pointers made (134). Nunn scored 777 points this season, the second most scored in a single season at Oakland.

Other finalists include Jerome Robinson (Boston College), Marcus Foster (Creighton), Grayson Allen (Duke) and Carsen Edwards (Purdue).

Named after Hall of Famer and 1959 NCAA Final Four Most Valuable Player Jerry West, the annual honor in its fourth year recognizes the top shooting guards in Division I men’s college basketball.

A national committee of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers narrowed the original watch list of 20 players down to 10 candidates and now just five finalists. This month, the five finalists will be presented to Mr. West and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The winner of the 2018 Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award will be determined by a combination of fan votes and input from the Basketball Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans are encouraged to visit to cast their votes March 9-23.

“For several decades I’ve been involved in the game as a player, coach and executive which has allowed me to watch a number of young athletes compete,” said Jerry West. “I truly enjoy observing collegiate athletes and these five finalists are in an elite class. I look forward to seeing them give their best efforts and performances this postseason.”



The winner the 2018 Jerry West Award will be honored at ESPN’s College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in downtown Los Angeles on Friday, April 6, 2018. Additional awards being presented include the Bob Cousy Point Guard Award, the Julius Erving Small Forward Award, the Karl Malone Power Forward Award and the Kareem Abdul-Jabbar Center Award. Broadcast information will be released at a later date.

Previous winners of the Jerry West Shooting Guard of the Year Award include Malik Monk, Kentucky (2017), Buddy Hield, Oklahoma (2016) and D’Angelo Russell, Ohio State (2015).

For more information on the Jerry West Shooting Guard Award, visit


Golden Grizzlies Photo Galleries