Nov. 6, 2017

INDIANAPOLIS -- Austin Ricci earned All-Horizon League first team honors, Nyal Higgins was named All-Horizon League second team while Noah Jensen was a Horizon League All-Freshman Team selection, as voted on the by league's 10 head coaches and announced by the league office on Monday.

Ricci, a senior from Richmond Hill, Ontario, Canada, appeared in all 17 games with 15 starts while leading the team in points (16) for the third consecutive season. His team-high eight goals were also tied for third in the conference. Ricci recorded two goals in a game twice at Green Bay (Sept. 20) and at Dayton (Sept. 30) in addition to scoring in each of Oakland's wins over VCU (Aug. 25), IUPUI (Sept. 16), No. 20 Michigan (Sept. 27) and Northern Kentucky (Oct. 7).

Higgins, an Ajax Ontario, Canada native and All-Freshman Team selection last season, tied for third on team in goals (2) from his defensive position while starting 16 games. The sophomore recorded his first goal of the season against No. 24 Western Michigan (Sept. 13) followed by the game-winning goal against IUPUI. Higgins also anchored the back line which didn't allow a goal in three straight matches for a total of 290 minutes of play helping the team to a four-game unbeaten streak during the season.

Jensen, a Courtice, Ontario, Canada native, started in nine of 16 games tying for third on the team in assists (3). He recorded his first career assist on the game-winning goal at VCU in the season opener and also assisted on both game-winners against IUPUI and at Belmont (Oct. 21).

First Team All-League
Tyler Moorman, Detroit Mercy, R-Sr., F
Audi Jepson, Green Bay, Sr., F
Tomer Zloczower, Green Bay, So., M
Nick Moon, Milwaukee, Sr.,F
Sean Reynolds, Milwaukee, Jr., D
Jim Barkei, N.Kentucky, Jr., GK
Austin Ricci, Oakland, Sr., F
Jesus Perez, UIC, So., M
Joel Leon, UIC, R-Sr., D
AJ Paterson, Wright State, Sr., M
Dan Bent, Wright State, Jr., D

Second Team All-League
Alec Nagucki, Cleveland State, Sr., M
Noah Pio, Cleveland State, Jr., M
Vlad Jandric, Cleveland State, So., M
Grant Harrison, Detroit Mercy, Jr., D
Spiro Pliakos, Detroit Mercy, Sr., F
Baran Huseini, Green Bay, Jr., D
Marcos Bautista, Green Bay, So., M
Vuk Latinovich, Milwaukee, Fr., M
Nyal Higgins, Oakland, So., D
Max Todd, UIC, Jr., F
Stefan Rokvic, Wright State, So., F
Sam DeRoy,Wright State, Sr., D
Joel Sundell, Wright State, So., GK

All-Freshman Team
Matteo Bennati, Belmont, F
Thomas M'Barek, Cleveland State, D
Kyle Bandyk, Detroit Mercy, M/F
Adam Mansa, Green Bay, D
Freddy Lorenzen, Milwaukee, GK
Jake Kelderman, Milwaukee, D
Vuk Latinovich, Milwaukee, M
Harvey Moyes, N. Kentucky, M
Noah Jensen, Oakland, M
Jacob Grabier, UIC, D
Peter Becht, UIC, F
Brayden McNitt, Wright State, M
Florian Hoffman, Wright State, D

Specialty Awards:
Player of the Year -- AJ Paterson, Wright State
Offensive Player of the Year -- Audi Jepson, Green Bay
Defensive Player of the Year -- Dan Bent, Wright State
Coach of the Year -- Jeremy Bonomo, Green Bay
Goalkeeper of the Year -- Jim Barkei, Northern Kentucky
Freshman of the Year -- Matteo Bennati, Belmont




Golden Grizzlies Photo Galleries