Feb. 28, 2017

INDIANAPOLIS -- Hannah Little was named Defensive Player of the Year, First-Team All-League and All-Defensive Team while Taylor Jones was selected Sixth Player of the Year as voted on the by league's 10 head coaches, staff and announced by the league office on Tuesday.

Little, a senior from Rochester Hills, Mich., and Jones, a sophomore from Detroit, Mich., played a major role this season helping Oakland to a 12-6 league record which marked the first time the Golden Grizzlies have won 12 Horizon League games since joining the conference in the 2013-14 season. It also was the first time Oakland has won 12 conference games since going 14-4 in the Summit League in 2009-10.

Little was the only player in the league to average a double-double at 11.2 points-per-game and 11.6 rebounds-per-game. Her team-leading 12 double-doubles broke the all-time single-season school record in the Division I era passing the previous mark of 11 held by Sarah Judd (2001-02) and Tamika Bates (1998-99).

Little also made a national impact defensively leading the league in rebounds (11.6 -- fourth nationally) and steals (3.3 -- 11th nationally) while ranking second in defensive rebounds (7.3 -- 13th nationally) and offensive rebounds (4.4 -- ninth nationally). Little also recorded double-digit rebounds in 21 of 29 games.

After garnering All-Freshman Team honors last year, Jones came off the bench this season to lead the team in scoring at 15.2 ppg which ranked ninth in the league. She scored over 20 points nine times this season with a career-high 27 points against Marygrove (11/14) and closed out the regular scoring 26 points in back-to-back games at Youngstown State (2/23) and Cleveland State (2/25) to cap off Oakland's five-game win streak.

Oakland enters the 2017 Little Caesars Horizon League Championships as a No. 4 seed and will play No. 5 seed Milwaukee at Joe Louis Arena on Sunday, March 5 at 2:30 p.m.

First Team All-League
Chelsea Welch, Wright State
Mehryn Kraker, Green Bay
Rosanna Reynolds, Detroit Mercy
Ashanti Abshaw, Cleveland State
Hannah Little, Oakland

Second Team All-League
Dani Franklin, Valparaiso
Khayla Livingston, Cleveland State
Jessica Lindstrom, Green Bay
Steph Kostowicz, Milwaukee
Brianne Cohen, Detroit Mercy

All-Freshman Team
Mary Dunn, Youngstown State
Jade Ely, Cleveland State
Anja Marinkovic, Detroit Mercy
Lizzie Odegard, Milwaukee
Caitlyn Hibner, Green Bay

All-Defensive Team
Hannah Little, Oakland
Jen Wellnitz, Green Bay
Jessica Lindstrom, Green Bay
Amber Lindfors, Valparaiso
Rebecca Lyttle, Northern Kentucky

Player of the Year: Mehryn Kraker, Green Bay
Defensive Player of the Year: Hannah Little, Oakland
Freshman of the Year: Mary Dunn, Youngstown State
Sixth Player of the Year: Taylor Jones, Oakland
Coach of the Year: Katrina Merriweather, Wright State




Golden Grizzlies Photo Galleries