May 12, 2017

MIDLAND, Mich. –
Oakland’s Taylor Gleason and Leah Somerfield garnered Basketball Coaches Association of Michigan (BCAM) honors for the 2016-17 season. Gleason was named to the Academic-Athletic Team while Somerfield earned the TEAM FIRST Award given to student-athletes who most exemplified putting the team before self while demonstrating teamwork, commitment, service and sacrifice.

Gleason, a 3.89 junior majoring in integrative studies, started 28 of 30 games and was named Horizon League Player of the Week after scoring 20 points against #21/24 Green Bay (2/2) in Oakland’s upset win over the Phoenix and Milwaukee (2/4). She led the team in three-pointers (46), was second in scoring (11.7 ppg) and assist per game (3.0) which both ranked 14th in the league, fourth in steals per game (2.1), sixth in three-point percentage (37.7) and eighth in minutes played (33.8). Gleason also scored a career-high 22 points with 10 field goals against North Dakota State (12/5).

Somerfield, 3.06 junior majoring in graphic design, also started 28 of 30 games ranking third on the team in scoring (11.1 ppg) which was 17th in the league. She also ranked 10th in field goal percentage (48.2) and 11th in rebounding (6.6) recording three double-doubles on the season for the first time in her career. Somerfield scored a career-high in points (25), field goals (8) going 7-for-9 from the free throw line at Milwaukee (1/11).

The Basketball Coaches Association of Michigan was incorporated in the summer of 1976. The purpose of BCAM was for the betterment of basketball in the state of Michigan. BCAM has also gained respectability nationwide by being a leader in clinics, academic awards, scholarship programs, websites, awards for players and coaches, official – coach relationships, and as a policy setter for national concerns.

2016-17 BCAM College Academic Athletic Team:
Reyna Frost - Central Michigan
Taylor Gleason - Oakland
Anna Timmer - Calvin
Kylie Townsley - Spring Arbor
Emily Wendling - Saginaw Valley

2016-17 BCAM College TEAM FIRST Award:
Presley Hudson - Central Michigan
Sarah LewAllen - Michigan Tech
Leah Somerfield - Oakland
Siera Thompson - Michigan
Meredith Shipman - Western Michigan




Golden Grizzlies Photo Galleries